Who can vote?
Who can vote in Minnesota?
To vote you must be:
- A U.S. citizen
- At least 18 years old on Election Day
- A resident of Minnesota for 20 days
- Not currently incarcerated for a felony conviction (more info)
- You can vote while under guardianship unless a judge specifically has revoked your right to vote.
- You cannot vote if a court has ruled that you are legally incompetent.
Registering to vote for 16- and 17-year-olds:
You can pre-register to vote at 16 or 17 years old. You must be at least 18 years old to vote.