HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS



Young Minnesotans can get involved even before they are old enough to vote!

WHO CAN VOTE?

To vote in Minnesota, you must be a U.S. citizen, at least 18 years old on Election Day, and a resident of Minnesota for at least 20 days. If you had a felony conviction, you can vote if you are not currently incarcerated for the felony offense.

PRE-REGISTRATION FOR 16- AND 17-YEAR-OLDS

Now, 16- and 17-year-old Minnesotans can submit a voter registration form, and have their registration take effect on their 18th birthday. Minnesota is a national leader in youth engagement, and getting young people to think of themselves as future voters is a big part of that.

2025 DATES

VOTE EARLY

June 27 - Aug. 11

REGISTER IN ADVANCEBy July 22

PRIMARY ELECTION

Tuesday, August 12

VOTE EARLY

Sept. 19 - Nov. 3

REGISTER IN ADVANCEBy October 14

ELECTION DAY

Tuesday, November 4

SERVE AS AN ELECTION JUDGE

In Minnesota, people who work at the polling place on Election Day are called *election judges*. 16- and 17-year-old students can work as election judge trainees. You'll take the day off of school, receive training, and be paid for your work. It's a great way to learn about elections and voting, and earn cash at the same time!



Scan this code to visit mnvotes.gov and register to vote!